Who comprises the Washington Public Ports Association? Find our past and present officers, as well as current committees and areas of expertise below. 



Port of Kalama - Troy Stariha.jpg


Troy Stariha,

Port of Kalama

Troy Stariha has served as a Commissioner for the Port of Kalama since 2010. He also is currently serving as Chair for the Executive Committee for the Cowlitz-Wahkiakum Council of Governments. A long-time Kalama resident, he graduated from Kalama High School in 1989. Troy has worked for Kalama Auto Supply and Repair for 27 years, purchasing the business in 2003.  As a small business owner within his community,  he understands the area’s desires and future needs on a personal level. His focus on economic development helps the port successfully create a balance of quality of life and family-wage jobs in the region. The Port of Kalama is an integral part of their community and Troy is proud to serve as commissioner. Troy is the father of three boys and has one grandchild. Much of his free time is spent attending his sons’ sporting events as well as coaching football, basketball, and baseball teams. Other hobbies include playing golf, watching NASCAR and attending community events.


Port of Tacoma - Don Meyer.jpg

Don Meyer,

Port of Tacoma 

Don Meyer is the former Executive Director of the Foss Waterway Development Authority and a former Deputy Executive Director of the Port of Tacoma. He joined the Commission in 2010.  Meyer currently serves as Co-Chair of the Regional Access Mobility Partnership (RAMP), and also is on the Pierce County Regional Council, Washington Public Ports Association Executive Committee, South King County Transportation Board, Tall Ships Planning Committee, University of Washington Tacoma’s Urban Studies Advisory Board and Tacoma Waterfront Association. He is also a member of the Alaska State Chamber of Commerce, the Fife / Milton / Edgewood Area Chamber of Commerce and the Transportation Club of Tacoma.  He recently served on former Gov. Christine Gregoire’s Connecting Washington Task Force on transportation issues, is a member of Tacoma Rotary #8 and owns a small business in Pierce County.  Born and raised on a South Dakota farm, Meyer holds a bachelor’s degree in business from Pacific Lutheran University and a master’s degree in business administration from the University of South Dakota.


Port of Kingston - Jim Pivarnik.jpg

Jim Pivarnik, 

Port of Kingston

Jim Pivarnik is presently the Executive Director for the Port of Kingston, serving in this capacity since 2016. Formerly, Pivarnik served as the Deputy Director for the Port of Port Townsend for 16 years. Pivarnik serves on many local committees and boards in Kitsap County, including the Kingston Advisory Council, as Treasurer for the Kingston Stakeholders Group, and on the Urban Village Center advisory board to the Kitsap County Comp plan. Born and raised in Cleveland, OH Jim received his bachelor’s degree from University of California, Santa Barbara. He lives in Port Townsend with his wife Christina and numerous animals. 


Port of Pasco - Jean Ryckman.jpg

Jean Ryckman, 

Port of Pasco 

Jean Ryckman has served as a Commissioner for the Port of Pasco since her appointment in  2012 and subsequent election in 2013.  She currently serves as Commission president.  She also serves as a Commissioner on the State Commission on Judicial Conduct, as a board member for Tri-City Development Council (TRIDEC), as a member of Pasco School District Budget Committee and Franklin PUD Rate Advisory Committee. She is the former manager of Franklin PUD, having retired in 2009 from a 28-year career with that agency.  Ryckman is past-president of the Pasco School Board, past-chair of Northwest River Partners, served on the Washington State School Directors Legislative Committee and their Federal Relations Network, Pasco Chamber of Commerce Board, Tri-Cities Visitor and Convention Bureau Board, United Way Board, Downtown Pasco Development Authority Board and has served with numerous other community service organizations. Because of her service to community, she received the William T. Elmgren Award for Outstanding Community Service, Washington PUD Association’s Spirit of Public Power Award, and was inducted into the Pasco High School 2010 Hall of Fame. She graduated with highest honors from Columbia Basin College with an AS Degree in Engineering Technology and was named alumna of the year in 2002.

Jean has 2 adult sons, six grandchildren, four “adopted” grandchildren, and two great grandchildren (but she thinks they are all great).  When she isn’t actively advocating for her community or playing with grandchildren, Jean enjoys national and international travel by air, sea and land. 




The Aviation Committee provides a forum for discussing airport development and management issues as well as technical support an policy guidance on aviation-related legislative issues.


The Budget Committee develops the annual budget for the Association. Membership is drawn from the Executive Committee, along with representatives from the Ports of Seattle and Tacoma.

Economic Development 

The Economic Development Committee provides leadership on economic development issues for ports in cooperation with other economic development activities.


The Environmental Committees promote environmentally sound economic growth by providing a forum to review and evaluate port environmental concerns.  The Committees support continued progress toward preserving and enhancing the natural environment while promoting public policies that balance the environmental, social and economic values of the communities that ports serve.


The Executive Committee, comprised of WPPA officers, oversees the general administration and management of the Association and provides the Executive Director with guidance on day-to-day affairs as well as policy issues.

Finance and Administration

The Finance and Administration Committee seeks to inform and influence continually changing state and federal rules, regulations, policies and procedures that impact port compliance.


The Legal Committee reviews legal issues affecting port districts and oversees WPPA participation in cases before the Washington State Court of Appeals and the State Supreme Court. The Legal Committee also provides continuing legal education credit for attorneys attending Association meetings.


The Legislative Committee directs legislative advocacy, discusses and develops issues that may become legislation, and devises strategy for legislative action.


Annually, the Long-Range Planning Committee, comprised of committee chairs and Association officers, reviews WPPA programs and activities. It provides the WPPA Board of Trustees with recommendations for change in Association policy or strategic direction.


The Marina Committee provides a forum for discussing issues facing public marinas and acts as an advisory board for WPPA.


The WPPA President appoints the Nominating Committee annually. The Committee proposes the slate of candidates for consideration by the Board of Trustees at the Association’s annual meeting.


The Communications Committee seeks to increase public understanding and support of public ports. The committee oversees a program designed to enhance WPPA legislative advocacy efforts, maintain credible and positive relationships with media and community members, and educate port officials and the general public about crucial issues in he port community.


Formed as a result of the original Ports System Study in 1975, the Trade and Transportation Committee explores potential areas for port cooperative efforts for trade policy and transportation issues. It is also the steering committee for marine cargo forecast updates.